Staff and Management

The SSRI's executive board is formed and sits for three years at a time. The executive board consists of the heads of the three faculties which the SSRI pertains to as well as three representatives who are elected by the faculties: two from the Faculty of Social and Human Sciences and one from the Faculty of Political Science.

If no professor from a faculty's course of study is representative of the SSRI's board, the course of study has the right to have an observer on board meetings with free speech and the right to propose a motion. SSRI's Director attends the board meetings along with one staff representative. The Director is entitled to make proposals but is without the right to vote.


The SSRI's staff have degrees spanning psychology, sociology, economics, gender studies and politics. They have extensive experience in the field of research.

Social Science Research Institute's staff

Ari Klængur Jónsson Project manager 5254509 arijonsson [at]
Árni Bragi Hjaltason Project manager 5255183 arnibragi [at]
Ásdís A. Arnalds Project manager 5255493 aaa1 [at]
  Brynjar Bjarkason Project manager 5254171 bbjarkason [hjá]
Guðbjörg Andrea Jónsdóttir Director 5254163 gudbjorg [at]
Guðbjört Guðjónsdóttir Project manager 5255437 gudbjort [at]
Guðlaug Júlía Sturludóttir Project manager 5254544 gjs [at]
Guðný Bergþóra Tryggvadóttir Project manager 5255467 gudny [at]
Guðný Gústafsdóttir Project manager 5254164 gudnyg [at]
Helgi Guðmundsson Project manager 5254167 heg [at]
Hrafnhildur Snæfríðar- og Gunnarsdóttir Project manager 5254176 hsg [at]
Inga Rún Sæmundsdóttir Project manager 5255493 ingarun [at]
Margrét Valdimarsdóttir Project manager 5254545 margretva [at]
María Lovísa Guðjónsdóttir Chief interviewer 5255440 marialg [at]
Ólöf Júlíusdóttir Project manager 5255440 olofj [hjá]
Sindri Baldur Sævarsson Project manager 5254161 sindribaldur [at]
Stefán Þór Gunnarsson Project manager 5254161 stefanthor [at]
Ævar Þórólfsson Project manager 5254160 at [at]
Örnólfur Thorlacius Project manager 5255440 ort [at]

Doktorsnemar og nýdoktorar

Arnar Már Búason Post-doctoral researcher arnarmar [at]
Arndís Bergsdóttir Post-doctoral researcher arndisbergs [at]
Christopher W. E. Crocker Post-doctoral researcher cwe [at]
Eliona Gjecaj Ph.D. student eliona [at]
Eva Þórdís Ebenezersdóttir Ph.D. student ethe3 [at]
Guðrún Svavarsdóttir Ph.D. student gudrunsvavars [at]
Haraldur Þór Hammer Haraldsson Ph.D. student hthh3 [at]
Heiður Hrund Jónsdóttir Ph.D. student hhj [at]
Hjördís Harðardóttir Post-doctoral researcher hjordish [at]
Kristjana Baldursdóttir Ph.D. student krb10 [at]
Luke Field Post-doctoral researcher luke [at]
Megan Lee Christiana Smith Ph.D. student mlc8 [at]
Sólveig Ólafsdóttir Ph.D. student solveig [at]
Yoav Tirosh Post-doctoral researcher yot2 [at]